Posted: June 4, 2004 in Uncategorized

Hey folks….how goes it? Well, I’m hoping!

So, I’ve been battling some very personal things for a while now…I don’t wanna get into detail, but this has been lingering over me for the past few months quite strongly.

I know that there are things/situations in our lives that are specifically placed, as to shape our world. God does this in order for us to build character–something that will never be complete until death. Right now I’m dealing with a situation that calls for me to be strong–in an area in which I am extremely weak. There are times where I am able to hold on to the strength provided by God, and other times, I fail to call upon that strength, and I fall short. This is further amplified in the fact that I don’t have very much faith in myself…which, i suppose means that I haven’t had enough faith in God–since He created me. As a result of all of this mess, I haven’t been myself at all. My best friend pulled me aside today, and expressed his concern…I talked about the situation with him, and I feel a little better….God’s blessed me with the BEST best friend i could ever have asked for…

I know this doesn’t make much sense to you, but I’m sure that it’s pretty clear that I’ve just been having a hard time with a challenge that God has brought into my life. And as a follower, I can’t sway away from the challenge, just because I wanna wimp out, and fold in to submission. I’ve gotta stay committed to fight, through prayer, and by leading a life of worship to God.

So this has been a problem….and today, more sad news came about. Today was the last day of work at Bullard….two of my students told me that they won’t be returning next year, because they (being siblings) are moving away (their father got a job elsewhere). It’s disheartening, because both of them were WONDERFUL students. I wish them the best in whatever it is that they do! Additionally, Kevin (Davis) told me that he will not be coming back as the director next year. He feels that he needs to pursue some dreams of his, as well as experience the world as much as he possibly can (while he still can). I admire and respect his decision, as it has been something he’s been thinking about for a very long time…he really loves being here–it’s just he feels it’s time for him to follow his dreams a little deeper.

Speaking of Bullard, I wanted to thank all of my students this year. I came into this school year terrified….coming into a situation with no director, and with limited exprience in teaching. You guys are an award-winning band….not easy for me to walk into! Thank you so much for hanging in there with me, and for having faith in me. This has been one of the greatest experiences, and I’m looking forward to next year. The biggest highlight of the year was championships….seeing all of you smiling, hollerin’, huggin’ each other, and bein’ incredibly happy with the way you performed….i was so proud of you all! I hope you know that I love every single one of you (yeah yeah…even YOU anthony…ya nappy headed varmint!)….from the depths of my blackipino heart! Next year will be a blast….I know that we won’t have Mr. Davis back, but I promise to give you every single ounce of my own energy to make sure that we “sell the show” next year

Well, I should get goin’ yo. I hope er’body has a great weekend….thanks to those who left the awesome/encouraging comments! Take care…

….drink red kool-aid….

Marcus

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    Marcus, I would rather have you helping out our band than all the fried chicken and red kool-aid in the world…

  2. Anonymous says:

    Marcus, my prayers are with you.

  3. Gerk says:

    I’m not one of your students or close friends, but you are the man.  Keep it up. (=

  4. jazstmpr67 says:

    I’m here for you, even if it’s in prayer. Keep your chin up. Like my momma says, “This too shall pass…” And you know my momma is always right. Hugs, Kathi

  5. MerchGirl says:

    its really great to see that we have someone in our band that is really glad to be with us, and nice and always smiling and happy and willing to work with us when we either suck, dont know what we’re doing or not paying attention and totally slacking. thanks marcus.
    but its an even better feeling to knowing that we are being lead by someone who has a relationship with God.
    love in Christ, jessie

  6. Anonymous says:

    I Know everything will turn out for the best in what ever you are going through.  God Bless, you.

  7. Anonymous says:

    Yay!! Marcus!!! ❤
    You’re the best.
    __Jamie

  8. Anonymous says:

    Marcus your are in the hizz-house, and thats right, I am REALLY white! Looking forward to having you instruct us next year, and keep your head up! From – “The nappy headed varmit” 🙂

  9. Hempz88719 says:

    dude marcus your tizzite we are all sooooooo grateful to have you with us and to teach us how to be a great band and learn to speak ebonics.-white chick-p.s. my xanga name has nothing to do with me:)

  10. Hempz88719 says:

    Maybe you should purify yourself in the waters of Lake menatanka

  11. Chuckchuckb1 says:

    marcizzle, good luck with your probizzle and thanks for putizzling up with us throughizzle the yearizzle.  Next yearizzle will be greatizzle with Russ as our drumbizzlejor(?).  Hopefully we’ll end up with greg erker, that is if the parents don’t skrew it up.  Seee youizzle next yearizzle.

Leave a Reply

