Posted: December 30, 2004 in Uncategorized

WARNING: Pretty long post here (includes my day, and stuff about the whole year)….

I can’t believe it….i’m actually…BORED ….what the?! I NEVER have time to be bored….but hey….i’ve actually been approached by boredom…and it’s actually kinda cooh

Woke up…showered, had Jesus time. Something I realized this morning as I read, was just how dependent upon the Lord I need to be. All of us have our personal battles and struggles…and lately, God has used that battle to show me just how much I need Him…somehow, i’ve come to terms with that more this passed week more than ever before. Amen…what a wonderful realization!

Cooked breakfast for Jeff, Eve, and myself…yummy stuff! Since then, i’ve just done kinda nothing but chill….watching the James Bond marathon….haha! Dunno what i’m doin for the rest of the evening….mike’s out with trish right now, which is awesome cuz they haven’t been able to hang out for a while, so i’m happy they get to! Dan’s still in Bakersfield…talked to him last night, and he says he’s “almost ready to come back to fresno…”…so that’s good to hear! I miss that guy! So yeah…dunno wussup for this evening….i’m sure jeff and i will figure sumpin out….we usually do

So….2005 huh? Wow….this year has been rather amazing in several regards. Here are just some of the greater of events of the year for me:

My First Missions Trip: In January, I took a trip with Jeff’s church to inner-city Los Angeles, and went on my first missions trip….ever….and man….it completely broke my heart to see so much poverty….i had always seen it on TV…but never so much in real life…i’ll never forget that amazing jesus time i had during the trip, when He brought me this verse: By this we know love, because He had laid down His life for us. And we also ought to lay down our lives for the brethren. But whoever has this world’s goods, and sees his brother in need, and shuts up his heart from him, how does the love of God abide in Him? (1 John 3:16-17)….Amen to that….I praise God for helping me to come to terms with that!

New Orleans: Man….after holding such a great desire to visit New Orleans, I actually did it with the Fresno State Wind Ensemble. Besides seeing the sights, witnessing a new culture, touring, playing and EATING ()….I really got to know some awesome people….what an experience that was!

New Apartment: When I was younger, I always wondered what my living situation would be like….and if i would be able to handle it. Now, having lived in this apartment for about 7 months, I’ve realized that I am in the most ideal living situation! I’m so amazed by these people with which I live…i learn so much from each of them…things i’ve never known/experienced before…i’m so blessed…thanks you guys…

United Spirit Association (USA) Drum Major Camps: So I unexpectedly returned as a staff member to USA, and had an incredible summer! My fourth summer as an instructor yo….dang! One thing that really humbled me was the fact that I was one of the “older” members….and with that in mind came a greater sense of responsibility. I taught classes i never thought i’d ever teach….and as a result of that challenge, I grew as a teacher. I’m going to miss this “job”, the staff members, and the students so much…but i know that i’m making the right decision to leave (you’ll read as to why in a bit)…

Senior Drum Major FSBMB: Scared out of my mind…to be the Senior Drum Major for the Fresno State Bulldog Marching Band. That’s how it all started this year! I doubted myself so much. Such an exposed responsibility in this band…it’s one that everyone knows…and everyone watches…but man…with such a GREAT band….I did it…i got through the season with no huge problems. I learned a lot about myself, and about others by this experience. I’m sad that it’s over for me in this band….but glad that I’ve had the opportunity to conduct and lead such an amazing band! Go Dogs!

Bullard High School: So….this was an incredibly rough season for my kids at bullard. Heartbreaking, most of the time. We didn’t win as much blah blah blah….but more importantly, we didn’t start on the correct mindset…but hey….lessons were learned. I know that I learned a GREAT deal from an instructor’s standpoint…as well as learned more about kids…and their tendancies…i still want to be a band director

21: Yeah….i turned 21…enormous milestone in anyone’s life! Nothing real different…but I did have a great birthday…spent it with the most amazing people…

Gettin HOT in herre: I became the drum major for FEVER Drum and Bugle Corps. Nervous as can be, but this is the last chance I have to explore this activity, and learn more about teaching. I’ve been getting to know a lot of the people who’ve been in it, and it’s just been awesome. I’m looking forward to traveling the U.S., getting HECKA sunburnt (i’m black anyway…only’ll make my dad more proud…haha), challening myself…all that jazz! It’ll be a great experience. Sad to be leaving USA…but I’m excited about making this summer another kind of learning experience…

Final thoughts: So yeah…this year’s been amazing…I could go on and on about the year, and several different events and whatnot. But man….i’m just thankful i’m here…I wanna thank my friends….for letting me be a part of your life….no matter how big, or how small that part may be, I’m humbled to know you all. I often think to myself “How is it that I have such awesome friends?” Friends like Cesar Cervantes…who’s I’ve known since FOREVER…and has always shown me that “problems” are never really a big deal…and that smiling is the way to go Chris Mateo who’s shown me that laughter is the greatest medicine, and that staying in touch is a necessity in life…Robert Beehler who’s shown me that friends OUTSIDE of your hometown (like your rival town…haha), are awesome….Kathi Hernandez who’s shown me that it’s ahight to show people how you really feel, and that it’s not okay to bottle things up….Luke Mundy….who’s shown me what it means to be in love with Christ…Jennifer Conlu….who’s shown me that steps of faith are REALLY worth it…and friends like Jeff Loven who’s shown me that miracles ARE indeed real…

***please don’t be mad if your name wasn’t mentioned here! I love you all so much…with all of my heart….i REALLY do!

God’s amazing y’all…He’s done so much to help me this year….especially in coming into terms with things with my family, and some personal issues. Sure, questions remain unanswered…but there’s this underlying hope that helps me to endure:

“A Man’s heart plans his way, but the LORD directs his steps.” (Proverbs 16:9)

…God has a plan for me…for you…and for us all this upcoming year…and forever more!….Happy New Year!!

-Marcus

Comments
  1. SuziQ0434 says:

    wow…ur posts always make me think…i like em…thanks 4 all the words of wisdom that u give me and dont even realize it.thanks

  2. jazstmpr67 says:

    Marcus, well, you amaze me!! As I sit here and read your entry, I realize that I need to spend more time with God, and you are such a great example of a true Christian. I can honestly say, I want some of that. Thanks for your love and friendship. Of course, I couldn’t help but cry.

  3. AmyShmamey says:

    Happy New Year! You are an incredible person and continue to amaze me with your insights and positive outlook on life…the world needs SO many more people like you…but i’m glad and oh so lucky to have stumbled upon one of them! You are loved by many….myself included!

  4. Anonymous says:

    aww u guys are playin indescribable at church tommorrow.. how fun!! it is a very nice song… Stay up.. GOd Bless!

  5. Anonymous says:

    First of all, can I say that Incubus’ “Morning View” is absolutely awesome and a very good pick to be listening to!!  Okay, with that out of the way…I just want to say how thankful I am to have met you and to have gotten to know you this semester!  You always know how to pick people up when they are down and to give positivity in someone’s life (mine included) when they feel like there isn’t much!  I don’t know how you do it!  I want to give you back what you give me…so if you ever need to talk or just laugh or anything…I hope you know that I will be there!  Thank you for a great semester and I am soooooo looking forward to all the fun memories that we will be making in Fever!  Love ya!

  6. Anonymous says:

    Hello Marcus, im Joshua, Kathi’s son. I saw ur xanga and its awesome! it has a different set up then everyone elses which is a refreshing change. Well i was searching and i dont know how to subscribe, i hightlighted and . . thats about it, but i couldnt find it. Ok, well keep up the awesome work on ur xanga and at Fresno State. God bless.
                    ~Joshua

  7. slappee says:

    happy happy happy new year home skillet!!!

Leave a Reply

