Gimme a break…

Posted: March 10, 2012 in Life

Today was a day of rest for me.

Last year, I decided that I’d take Fridays off from work to be able to just relax and collect myself before the busyness of the weekend could arrive.  While the intent of it was good, I was horribly inconsistent in terms of keeping my Sabbath.  Eventually, I found myself always back at the office on Friday – to the point to where I was working every day. Don’t get me wrong:  I love what I get to do!  However, if I am going to be at my best at work and in my relationships – I need to make sure that I rest.

So today, I decided to try again.  And here’s what I did:

  • Woke up, and did some exercising.  Zumba Fitness 2 on the Wii.  Don’t judge me!
  • Had a great devotional, and spent some time in prayer.
  • Had lunch with Chris Morshead at the Cafe Connection.  Great food, and really great conversation.
  • Watched The Lorax.  It was pretty good!  I’ve never read the book, so I’m not sure how it compares.
  • Did a bit of shopping.  Target.  Holler.
  • Did a bit of reading.  Big God (Britt Merrick).  Hoping to finish it by this next week.
  • Watched an Indoor Guard & Percussion show in Tulare.  Got to see some former students perform.  Great job to Haze, Kymbra, Jazmin, Alexis, and Thomas!

It was a real nice change of pace today.  I hope to stay more consistent this time around! 🙂

Leave a Reply

