Book Review: “Big God” (Britt Merrick)

Posted: March 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

I used to love reading when I was younger…

…but after Street Fighter 2 came out as a video game, my love for reading turned into a love for arcade games.  Haha!

Anyhow, since being at the Children’s Pastors’ Conference in SD a few weeks ago, I got the itch to read again.  It’s been so helpful to me on so many levels.  It seriously feels like a lifestyle change.  Every night, I’ve spent some time reading so I can focus on growing as a leader, and as a man after Christ’s own heart.

At last year’s CPC, Britt Merrick spoke – and I just had to pick up his then-most recent book, Big God.  He was so engaging as a speaker, so I knew I could connect with his writing – and I was certainly correct in assuming that.

Here’s a short video about his testimony:

Big God focuses on the “Hall of Faith” (Hebrews 11: 1-40).  Britt’s intent is to encourage us to mature in our faith by “understanding the lives of people of faith from Scripture” (p. 34).  With that in mind, he takes the reader the through the accounts of Abel, Enoch, Noah, Abraham, Sarah, Moses, Rahab, David, and others – and exposes the extent of their faith (and the results thereof).  It’s about ordinary folks like you and I…people who’ve made mistakes…who do amazing things for God.

Some memorable quotes:

“Waiting on God never means paralysis…When we wait on God, we are to be engaged with God.” (p. 137)  God rewards active faith, and responds to our obedience.  Waiting on God doesn’t mean we simply sit and do nothing.  It’s about pursuing Him.

“The enemy designs temptation for our failure, but God designs testing for our growth.”  (p. 152).  In order for our faith to grow in strength, it must be exercised…just like a muscle does.  When we succumb to temptation, we are expressing a lack of trust in God’s purpose for our lives.

“We discover God’s plan – and realize that it’s better [than our plans] – when we choose to live it.  Be faithful in the little things that God calls you to do.  You’ll find that he who is faithful with little will be entrusted with more.” (drawn from Luke 6:10 – p. 165).  I have some pretty big hopes for my life/future.  Sometimes, those hopes cloud my ability to focus what God has in store in the present.

God might just put His hand on that which you love a lot to make sure that you love Him the most.  What is it that you need to offer up by faith?”  (on Abraham and Isaac, p.170).  This really made me think about where God truly is in the order of my life.  Is He the most important thing in my life?  Do I love Him more than my relationships?  My passions?  I can certainlysay that he is…but I have to say that my priorities don’t reflect that statement very well.

Whenever God blesses us, there is an expectation from Him that we will then, in turn, bless others.  He doesn’t bless you just for you.  You’re a part of that equation, but you’re not the totality.” (p. 222)  Imagine if the church truly adopted this mindset: blessing others as a result of the blessings of God!

Thanks for a great read, Britt!

Leave a Reply

